Thank-you for visiting the Manitoba Section of Sport Physiotherapy Canada’s website!  My name is Steve Moerman and I am the current Chairperson.  There are sixteen physiotherapists that fill various roles on our council.

We have many great courses and events in the works for 2016-2017 with more details to follow.  Your SPC membership will get you a discount at these courses.   Stay up-to-date with SPC volunteer opportunities and upcoming events by following our Facebook page.

If you have any questions regarding the SPC educational system, seeking out sport physiotherapy experience, or are interested in being apart of our council, you can email me at





Annual General Meeting 2017

The SPC-MB Section AGM will be on Saturday April 8, 2017 in conjunction with the Manitoba Physiotherapy Association’s AGM at the Sport for Life building (145 Pacific Ave).  The day has events scheduled from 9am-3:30pm.  The MPA keynote speaker will be Jacquie Van Ierrsel, PhD(c), MSc, BScPT, BPE, FCAMT, SPC Diploma, CAFCI, CSCS and she will be speaking about the Most recent evidence and clinical applications of managing post-concussion symptoms. Our AGM will start after lunch at 12:45pm and will feature a talk with Jacquie Van Ierrsel titled “Acute Management of the Sports Related Concussion.”

Please see below for the current nominations to the SPC-MB Section board for this year’s AGM.  Submissions for nominations must be done by April 1, 2017 and will be voted on at the AGM April 8, 2017.  If you would like to be nominated or know someone who would like to step into a role, please email me ( with their nomination by April 1.

Equipment Managers:

Nomination: Stephen Braun and Curtis Friesen

Educational Co-chair:
         Nomination: Ashley Desloges
Chair Elect:
         Nomination: Quinn Taylor
Event Coordinator:
         Nomination: Chantel Landry

Please also take a moment to review:
1) 2016 AGM Minutes

2) AGM Financial Summary 2017

3) ConstitutionSPCMB2016

Please RSVP to by April 4th if you are intending to attend the AGM.  

Lunch is provided and there is no charge for MPA members.




SPC Membership Award

Sports Physiotherapy Canada – MB section (SPC-MB)



This award recognizes the physiotherapist that has given back to the Sport Physiotherapy community.  This may include but is not limited to, volunteering at sports events, administering courses, mentoring, being a member on the SPC council, teaching sports physiotherapy at the University, etc.


2017 will signify the inaugural year of the SPC membership award. The Manitoba section of Sports Physiotherapy Canada continues to grow each year and connects physiotherapists across Manitoba with similar interests. SPC has a rich history of success due to its members who actively participate in events across the province. During SPC sponsored events, the presence of our members has played an integral rolein increasing community and athlete awareness of the physiotherapy profession.

The Award:

The award is a recognition plaque, which will be presented at the Annual General Meeting, along with a their name engraved on a plaque at the CoRS.


The nominee must meet the following criteria:

1. Has been a licensed practicing physiotherapist for more than 3 years.

2. Is a member in good standing of CPA and the College of Physiotherapists of


3. Be recognized as a mentor for others by their contribution to the profession

4. Has been a positive career influence for fellow Physiotherapists and public

Nomination Process:

1. The call for nominations will commence in September each year through an

advertisement in our SPC newsletter blasts. The SPC awards committee must

receive the application by February 15 th

2. Any member of CPA may make the nomination

3. The nomination must be submitted on the Nomination Form;


For more information/nomination form please click below: 


Information/Nomination Form (doc format): spc-membership-award

Information/Nomination Form (PDF format): spc-membership-award







Executive Committee


Steve Moerman

Executive Chair

Pure Lifestyle Ltd.

1129 Empress St.

Winnipeg, MB

t: 204-338-7873

f: 204-788-1492


Kim Champagne


Vista Place Physiotherapy

K-1631 St. Mary’s Road

Winnipeg, MB

t: 204-253-2165

f: 204-253-2229


Kelsey Moeller Brown

Marketing and Communications Coordinator

Quarry Physiotherapy

3-347 Main Street

Stonewall, Manitoba

t: 204-467-9101

f: 204-467-9102


Haley Stenberg

Education Chair

Vista Place Physiotherapy

Unit K-1631 St. Mary’s Road

Winnipeg, MB

t: 204-253-2165

f: 204-253-2229


Chris Loewen

Membership Development Coordinator

Quarry Physiotherapy / Benefit Rehabilitation

Stonewall, MB / Winnipeg, MB

t: 204-467-9101 / 204-505-6348

f: 204- 467-9102 / 204-505-6333


Sarah Bleichert

Sport Medicine and Science Council of Manitoba SPC Representative

Prairie Trail Physiotherapy and Sports Injury

101 – 1345 Taylor Ave

Winnipeg, MB

p: 204-452-7142

f: 204-414-9454


Maria Pawlyshyn

Events Coordinator

Ness Physiotherapy

3236 Portage Avenue

Winnipeg, MB

t: 204- 953- 1650

f: 204- 953 – 1653


Chantel Landry

Co-Events Chair


Stephen Braun

Equipment Coordinator

Doug Christie Physiotherapy/Ste. Anne Physiotherapy

t: 204-233-0419/204-422-5080

f: 204-233-0424 ATTN: Stephen


Quinn Taylor
Equipment Coordinator

Pure Lifestyle Ltd

1129 Empress St

Winnipeg, MB

t: 204-338-7873

f: 204-788-1492


Curtis Friesen

Equipment Coordinator

Kenaston Common Physiotherapy

140-1580 Kenaston Blvd

Winnipeg, MB

t: 204-489-4737

f: 204-488-3417


Emily Campbell

MPT Year 1 Student Representative

University of Manitoba: College of Rehabilitation Sciences


Brett Willows

MPT Year 1 Student Representative

University of Manitoba: College of Rehabilitation Sciences


Breanne Hilhorst

MPT Year 2 Student Representative

University of Manitoba: College of Rehabilitation Sciences


Shanley Mowat

MPT Year 2 Student Representative

University of Manitoba: College of Rehabilitation Sciences





Leave a Reply